A Court of Thorns and Roses

A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES
by Sarah J. Mass

acourthof

“When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.”

Rating: ★★★★☆
4.5 stars

Notes I Made While Reading

  • Yes. For once it isn’t the eldest daughter/son that is doing the grueling work needed to sustain their family. Of course, I feel bad for Feyre, but I also like her character more now.
  • I love the conflicting character traits that Feyre has. She’s this hardcore hunter and she loves to paint. It’s not ‘Omg, I used to paint and stuff and now I have to hunt stupid animals’.  It’s still a part of her but a part she can’t show; because she doesn’t have the chance or time to.

    SPOILERS!

  • “There was nothing left of her in the cottage beyond the ironwood bed—and the vow I’d made.Every time I looked toward a horizon or wondered if I should just walk and walk and never look back, I’d hear that promise I made eleven years ago as she wasted away on her deathbed. Stay together, and look after them. I’d agreed, too young to  ask why she hadn’t begged my elder sisters, or my father ” Her mother knew she was special.  :]
  • Are you serious Feyre? Really?! It took me half a second to get that riddle. She wasn’t far off from holding a neon sign saying “IT’S LOVE DOOFUS”

    END OF SPOILERS

  • WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED TO THE PLOT. I FEEL LIKE I READ TWO DIFFERENT BOOKS. I’M SO CONFUSED AND CONFLICTED. I LOVED THIS BOOK UNTIL THE LAST 100 OR SO PAGES. Why couldn’t you have just let me love you. Why’d you have to ruin everything. :[

    REVIEW

First things first, Sarah J. Maas is a master of words. I was skeptical about A Court of Thorn and Roses because there were so many negative reviews. But I had a feeling that I might actually end up liking it. But she had me from the first page. She painted a beautiful picture and I could see and feel everything she described. I was worried that the main character Feyre, might end up being too similar to Katniss Everdeen- The Hunger Games. I thought so because of the whole ‘Feyre hunts to keep her family alive’ thing. But that’s as far as the similarities go. *Thank God*

Beauty and the Beast(movie): I have always loved the movie as a kid. A woman falls in love with an ugly beast, not based on his looks but who he is. Lots of people aggrandize that Shrek is one of the few animated movies where love is based on more than just looks and love at first sight. I think you guys have forgot about Beauty and the Beast. The entire prose is about not judging someone based on appearance. (Basically the reason for the curse) “Belle’s father seeks shelter in the Beast’s castle and the Beast imprisons him for trespassing. His daughter Belle, a bookworm who dreams of life outside her provincial village, finds him trapped in the castle and offers her place instead.” She thinks he’s a monster and he thinks she’s difficult and stubborn. Before you know it, love blossoms.

Beauty and the Beast(fairy tale):  Okay first of all, I’m embarrassed that I never researched the actual fairy tale all these years and just settled for the spruced up Disney version. I don’t want to get off topic so I’ll just leave a link here. It was written by French novelist Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont.  Beauty and the Beast: A Fairy Tale Ms. Maas has actually used a lot of elements from the original tale and I’m pleasantly surprised at how she made it her own.

ACOTAR
There isn’t much I can say about this book without spoiling something and I really don’t want to spoil anything; even the most smallest of details. I think part of the reason of why I loved it so much is because I hadn’t the littlest idea about this book. The only detail I knew was that it was a Beauty and The Beast retelling. If you want to maintain that element of surprise, I suggest you don’t read too many reviews and just dive into the book. You can decide for yourself. The first 300 hundred pages are absolutely brilliant. They are why I am in love with Maas’ writing now. But I have mixed feelings about this story because of the way it ended. The climax had caused my jaw to drop to the floor, of course. But after that, I just felt like she was concentrating on all the wrong elements. There came a point when I just wanted to put the book down from binge reading and continue it the next day. It dragged on for quite a while. I drudged through because the ending couldn’t ruin the rest of the book for me.
The whole part with Rhysand and Feyre was fine at first but it wasn’t completely necessary. A bit redundant. But the reason I’m not as disappointed is because I’m pretty sure Maas has a lot in mind for his character in the next book(s).*

*It’s impossible for me to review this book without leaking anything. Just take my word. Read it! If you don’t like it, I’m sorry. If you do, great! P.S.- I have not read any of her books before but now I know what all the hype is. Looking forward to starting  the Throne of Glass series. OOH. When you’re done reading the book, check out Sarah’s pinterest board. Lots of interesting stuff about book 2! HERE

I’ll even give you a sneak peek!

Feyre

GUESS WHO?!

Leave a Reply

