Inherit The Stars

INHERIT THE STARS (INHERIT THE STARS #1)
by Tess Elwood

25463009

“Asa is the youngest daughter of the house of Fane, which has been fighting a devastating food and energy crisis for far too long. She thinks she can save her family’s livelihood by posing as her oldest sister in an arranged marriage with Eagle, the heir to the throne of the house of Westlet. The appearance of her mother, a traitor who defected to the house of Galton, adds fuel to the fire, while Asa also tries to save her sister Wren’s life . . . possibly from the hands of their own father.

But as Asa and Eagle forge a genuine bond, will secrets from the past and the urgent needs of their people in the present keep them divided?

Rating: ★★★☆☆
3.5 stars

Notes I Made While Reading

    • Yek

I have a received an ARC of Inherit The Stars by Tessa Elwood. When I read the blurb, the following really grabbed my interest. “She thinks she can save her family’s livelihood by posing as her oldest sister in an arranged marriage with Eagle, the heir to the throne of the house of Westlet. The appearance of her mother, a traitor who defected to the house of Galton, adds fuel to the fire, while Asa also tries to save her sister Wren’s life . . . possibly from the hands of their own father.”
The premise of the story was well constructed but it wasn’t carried out properly.


All the usual elements of a young adult dystopia were used. Unfortunately, they were used heavily. There is no consistency in the story-line. Readers would expect some good cliffhangers and equally interesting filler chapters with banter between the MCs, how they get along, world description, background story, etc.
I expected a slightly more fast-paced version, with less sulking and ineptness from the main character. Usually, I’m able to connect with the characters; no matter how unpopular they are. But I couldn’t relate to the MCs in ‘Inherit the Stars’. As opposed to what Asa is thinking 24/7, I’d have liked to learn more about the other characters, their background history and definitely more detail to the world-building.
The pace of the story line was all over the place. It was either way too fast or too slow. There’s a lot of jumping from one scene to another and I always felt like there were chunks of the story missing.
One vital concept I was hoping to see elaborated was ‘The Electorate’. I really wanted to know more about that.
Asa’s character development was barely there. Her progression was the most disappointing.
The only right cord Tessa Elwood struck was with Eagle. His character building was well-paced.
There was only minor cliffhanger that left me slightly on the edge of my seat. After that point, it was either very predictable or uninteresting.

Conclusion:
I’m not pleased with the way the story turned out. The only character I enjoyed reading about was Eagle. I hope to read more about him or from his point of view in later books.

What I recommend:
I’d suggest that the story take on one major motif. By either improving upon the drama aspects or the sci-fi/world-building parts.

Leave a Reply

