I Found You (by Lisa Jewell

I FOUND YOU
by Lisa Jewell

30753651

A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mom Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgment, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.

Rating: ★★★★★
5 stars

Before I Started Reading

  • It looks like a pretty good book. I really hope it’s interesting.
  • I didn’t really pay much attention to the summary.

Notes I Made While Reading

    • WHO THE HECK ARE YOU, FRANK?!
    • I am so agitated. So agitated because I honestly don’t know who he is?! This is amazing. I love the fact that this author has successfully written this so well that I have no clue who! It has been a while since I’ve read a story that I really just had no idea.

REVIEW

Before I request to read a book on NetGalley, the first thing I do is check out its reviews on GoodReads. ‘I Found You’ seemed alright on GoodReads so I decided to download it. The summary on NetGalley and the description on GoodReads weren’t really that attention-grabbing. What actually piqued my interest was the About the Book section inside the book. Here’s what it was.

“Two women, twenty years of secrets, and a man who can’t remember lie at the heart of Lisa Jewell’s brilliant new novel.

 Surrey: Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night, she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one.
 East Yorkshire: Alice Lake finds a man on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, no idea what he is doing there. Against her better judgement she invites him into her home.
 But who is he, and how can she trust a man who has lost his memory?”
I started reading this book yesterday. I finished a half hour ago. It was everything I’ve wanted in a mystery novel for a very long time. For one thing, she kept the air of mystique! I was so happy that I was clueless about everything. I just did.not.know.
It took me a couple of minutes to get into the book, though. At first, I was dull-eyed and ready to eye-roll my way through this story. But within a couple of pages, I was so interested at where it was all heading.

The characters were very easy to like. Lisa Jewell did an awesome job with telling this story through the multiple POVs without confusing the reader. There were times when there were two POVs in one chapter but you could automatically get a feel of who it was.

I was always on the edge of my seat for certain ‘key chapters’. I really don’t want to give away anything about this book. If you do end up reading it, you’ll understand what I mean.

This were some of my feelings through the book. (Yes, because I’m lazy to write about each part). In no particular order:

Conclusion:

It was a wonderful mystery novel that I definitely recommend. It’ll keep you at the edge of the seat. It’ll make you feel for the characters. The characters are likable and the plot is perfect. Lisa Jewell has won my heart and most importantly tricked my brain!
Image result for thumbs up gif
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s